Delete instead of Archive your Gmail on iPhone

If you use the Mail app on your iPhone to access one or more Gmail accounts, you may have discovered that, by default, you are unable to delete e-mails. Instead, e-mail is simply archived, removing it from your Inbox but leaving it in your Gmail’s “All Mail” folder. Fortunately, there is a way to change this, and it can be customized for each Gmail account. Prefer to have the ability to delete e-mails from your personal account but archive from your work account? Totally possible.

Step 1: Tap “Settings”

photo 1b 200x300 Delete instead of Archive your Gmail on iPhone

Step 2: Scroll down and tap “Mail, Contacts, Calendars”

photo 2b 200x300 Delete instead of Archive your Gmail on iPhone

Step 3: Tap the Gmail account you wish to change

photo 3b 200x300 Delete instead of Archive your Gmail on iPhone

Step 4: Tap the word “ON” next to “Archive Message.” This will switch it to OFF, which switches Archive to Delete

photo 4b 200x300 Delete instead of Archive your Gmail on iPhone

 

Subscribe

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

, ,